Posted by: asianshock | June 25, 2011

June 25th Day 1 in Beijing

Alright where to begin…My flight landed in Beijing at 5 am to an awesome sunrise. It which was actually pretty nice timing because as long as I could last the entire day, I have fight off the jet lag.

We had some trouble finding the right dorm, but after what seemed like a few miles of walking, we eventually found the international dormitory. At least the rooms are NICE. If only Dykstra Hall was this nice.

I have my own room and I share a common room with my friend Jamie who is also working in the same lab as me. After getting settled in, we went exploring and must have gotten lost at least 10 times during the course of several hours. We eventually found our way to a Nanjing style restaurant after several failed attempts at finding the elusive McDonald’s. There were signs everywhere for it, but no actual restaurant to be found. The restaurant decor was totally legit, and the food was pretty good as well.

After lunch, we went back to our rooms to see if our internet was working. To my dismay, I found out that my ethernet port on my laptop is broken and that the wireless costs money. I am currently typing this on my roommate’s computer but hopefully I can buy a USB ethernet adapter tomorrow..otherwise I have to buy a netbook here; which I could probably use for the future anyways….but we’ll see.

I’ll try to make a new post everyday, but depending on how fast I get this internet problem resolved, I might be mia for the next few days.

-V

Leave a Reply

Categories

