Posted by: asianshock | July 8, 2011

July 8th, Day 14

Today me and Jamie woke up at 8:00 to go to lab. We arrived at the Health Center right on time for the lab meeting and our presentations. We presented our past research experiments, and although most of the information was relatively new to them, they asked very insightful questions afterwards. After the meeting, we followed 2 grad students as they performed a RT PCR and a transfection. I was relieved to see that many of the equipment that I find in the U.S was also present in this lab.

3 of the grad students took me and Jamie to go eat in the student cafeteria after the experiments. The cafeteria resembled the cafeteria at Peking University. Everything was cheap and tasty. I will have to take a picture of both the lab and cafeteria when I go back on monday.

After lunch, we got paired up with a grad student that we will be working with for the duration of the program. I got paired up with a nice girl named Jane who is starting a new project on DNA methylation. She is going to send me papers over the weekend with more specific background on her project.

We also met a genius in our lab. His name escapes me for the moment, but he went to college at the age of 14, and is currently in his second year of grad school. Everyone in the lab says hes the smartest one in the lab. He is a pretty cool guy. He even showed me and Jamie his skills at nunchucks and asked us if we wanted to learn. Of course I said sure.

Tomorrow is going to be a very tiring day. We are taking a bus tour from 8 am to 6 pm. We are going to the Great Wall, Forbidden City, and Tiamen Square. Normally you can spend the whole day at any one of the locations so it is going to be interesting to see how we can fit everything into 1 day. Its going to be a great chance for pictures so that is a plus.

Well I’m off to rest until tomorrow

-V

Leave a Reply

Categories

