Posted by: asianshock | July 19, 2011

July 19 Day 24

We arrived at the lab around 10:30 am. I went on my computer and finished reading the manuscript I was editing last night. At around 11:00 am, Jane came in and asked if we wanted to go to an all-you-can eat pizza buffet. Dr. Lu was in a good mood because he just got 2 new graduate students and offered to treat everyone. The place was called Big Pizza, and had a variety of food other than just pizzas.

Most food I have eaten so far at Beijing

My favorite dish at the buffet was a chocolate strawberry dessert pizza. It had a thin crust and was pretty good.

Cheese, Strawberries, and chocolate...How can you lose

They actually ran my primers on a gel. Pretty impressed

After a thoroughly enjoyable meal, we headed back to the lab. I had found that my primers had arrived. Finally! I can do some lab work. We ordered primers for 8 genes ,so there were 8 forward primers and 8 reverse primers.

I diluted the primers using water and made master mixes containing:
1) Taq polymerase
2) The forward and reverse primer of a gene
3) water

Just like Home!

Then we took an aliquot from the master mix of each gene, and added them to PCR tubes. Next we added cDNA of healthy liver tissue. We ran a PCR, and I had to leave before the results were ready, so I will look at them tomorrow and hopefully everything went well. Jane also showed me how they make agarose gels. It is similar to how I do it in the states. Some agarose powder + TAE Buffer + Microwave + Ethidium Bromide. I was a bit nervous about the EB portion though because the safety precautions were a bit lax.

That is it for now. Back to those secondaries =/

-V

Leave a Reply

Categories

